Vegan Carrot & Pineapple Muffins

My good friend gave me her juicer because she found a fancier one at a garage sale.  I have to admit, it sat on my counter before I started using it– but now it is part of our routine.

carrot, beet, grapefruit & kale juice
carrot, beet, grapefruit & kale juice

My kids love carrot juice and I started to feel guilty about all the pulp I was getting rid of (apparently, better juicers make less).  So, I looked up some carrot muffin recipes and decided to make my own version.  I have gotten great reviews so far.  To my surprise, even  folks  who are not so into eating healthy enjoyed these.  Let me know how they turn out for you!

kids helping (and enjoying raisins)

Muffin Recipe

* Preheat oven 400 degrees

Mix in large bowl

1 cup agave nectar (or 1 c turbindado sugar)

1/2 cup vanilla oat or almond milk

1/2 cup coconut oil (liquefied)

1 tbsp vanilla

2 cups carrot pulp (or grated carrots)

2 cups crushed pineapple + 1/2 c juice (or 20 oz can with juice)

In separate bowl

carrot & pineapple muffins
carrot & pineapple muffins

2 cups flour (wheat or all purpose)

1 cup oat bran (oatmeal works fine too)

1 cup almond meal (if you don’t have this ingredient use more flour)

1/4 cup ground flax seeds

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp ground cloves

Mix in dry ingredients (one cup at a time)

Add 1 cup raisins (or try dried cranberries or cherries)

1/2 cup walnuts (optional)

Bake for 20 min

Yield: 24 muffins

*Thanks to Bonu for the juicer, Ana for the idea to make muffins for my kids and David for encouraging me to bake with agave nectar!muffins and flowers
Leave a Reply

