Homemade Gripe Iced Tea

This is a recipe I tried after I realized that the $12 for a two oz bottle of Gripe

ginger root

Water from my local natural foods store was something I could make at home for much less.  I had discovered that my nursing children had food sensitivities to milk, soy and peanuts– whenever I unintentionally consumed foods with one of these ingredients they each suffered from colic symptoms*.  I wanted a remedy to these symptoms that is free of preservatives, sugar and alcohol.  I was shocked when I read that the main ingredients of this over-the-counter remedy are chamomile, ginger and fennel!

Not coincidentally, these are the remedies shared by experienced mothers I had met (mostly women not raised in the US,  hmmm).  Anyway, I made gallons of this tea and drank it while I nursed and I also gave my children small diluted doses (either in a bottle combined with expressed milk or with a medicine dropper) whenever they showed symptoms of digestive discomfort.fennel seed

I also served this to family and guests with great reviews.  It is especially nice after a meal as the ingredients are proven to aid digestion and soothe stomach problems.

  • 2 tablespoons of whole fennel seeds
  • one “finger” of fresh ginger root (5-6 pieces sliced)
  • 5 teabags of organic chamomile tea (or loose if you choose)
  • sweetener to taste (optional)

Boil the fennel seeds and slices of ginger root in at least 6 cups of water for 15-2o minutes.

Once the water turns a clear golden color remove from heat.

Add chamomile tea and steep.

If you are adding a sweetener (honey should not be given to children <1 year), I suggest adding it while the water is still warm.

Once the tea cools, add at least 6 more cups of water and chill.

Serve over ice and enjoy!

Note: You can add more or less water according to taste.  If you are giving directly to a colicky child consult your health care provider first and be sure to dilute the tea with filtered water (at least 1:1 ratio)

* The best way to handle food sensitivities in nursing babies is to elimiate the food from the mother’s diet.  For me this meant cutting out most processed foods (a very good thing, indeed).  The Gripe Water was kept on hand when I was traveling and I didn’t have as much control over access to good food.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Gripe Iced Tea

  1. Thank you! My little guy is 2 weeks and we just figured out he has a dairy allergy, but it can take up to two weeks for the dairy to get through my system. I bought over the counter gripe water that works almost instantly but it’s so expensive! how much of the 1:1 diluted do you recommend giving at one time?

  2. Hi Rebecka,

    Congratulations on your new arrival!

    First, I’d check with a trusted health care practitioner before giving the baby anything besides breast milk.

    I can tell you what I did… I either gave my son a little on a teaspoon or I used a dropper. Once he got older I gave him a bit more.

    If you are unsure about how much to give to the baby it is good idea to drink plenty of it yourself.

    I hope this helps!

  3. Just wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed this recipe when my baby was having fussy nights. I still make it sometimes just because I like the taste and it’s a nice big recipe to keep on hand.

Leave a Reply

